Bent intake valve - 2018 Textron Havoc X Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By GearHead86

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-25-2020, 06:43 PM Thread Starter

Bent intake valve

I have a havoc x with 163kms on it and it’s been a nightmare first got harness replaced and now has a bent intake valve, Has anyone come across this problem ?
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-08-2020, 09:43 AM

Never heard of this on this motor. As a engine machinist I am not sure if this is a interference motor or not but usually a bent valve occurs when the camshaft(s) get out of time. I.E. broken cam chains jumped chains due to tensioner failure ect. Some rare cases are stuck valves in tight guides from improper machine work. Also common is broken valve springs, Something has happened and you need to start by pulling the valve cover and verifying where your timing is at and looking at the valve springs. Have you done a leakdown test and confirmed bent valve? A valve that has no clearance will also hold open and give symptoms of bent valve. Check your valve clearance.
Cadydid likes this.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 10:56 PM

I would agree. How do you know it has a bent valve? Did the dealer tell you that? If so, have they explained the root cause? Valves don't get bent for "no reason", especially on a machine with 160km (which is about 100 miles I think).